On September 15, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua celebrate their respective independence days. On October 16, Mexico follows suit, followed by Chile, Belize, and Puerto Rico. 

Each country on the list above has its own essence, but what binds them is the fusion of indigenous traditions and Spanish culture.

Cartago, Costa Rica

Cartago once acted as Costa Rica’s capital city before a volcanic eruption partially destroyed it in the 18th century. Now, it serves as a cultural center and a place for visitors to learn more about the nation’s history and to enjoy some of Costa Rica’s natural beauty. 

Tazumal, El Salvador

El Salvador is home to some rather impressive Mayan ruins that show off this once great civilization

Antigua, Guatemala

The 16th-century city of Antigua is surrounded by volcanoes, churches, and Baroque buildings, combining European style with pre-Hispanic traditions.

Comayagua, Honduras

Honduras may be well-known for its beaches, but it also has some quaint inland towns worth exploring to learn more about the nation’s history. 

Veracruz, Mexico

When visiting Veracruz, stop by the Zocalo in Downtown Veracruz, where locals gather to listen to “son jarocho,” a regional folk music style that started right here. 

Stay Updated
With Us!